How to Factory Reset Samsung Galaxy S3 and Galaxy Note 2

I’m plan on keeping this precise and to the point without all the fluff…only some visuals to help you along the way…

PREFERRED METHOD

1.  From the home screen, select the Menu soft key (lower left).

menuGS3

2.  Select Settings.

SettingsGS3

3.  Select Backup and Reset.

BackupandResetGS3

4.  Select Factory Data Reset.  You have the option to choose to put a check mark next to the boxes titled Backup My Data and Automatic Restore.  If I were in your shoes, I would for the sake of restoring your phone and making it just a tad easier, but that’s just me.  You also should already have an account listed under Backup Account (Also known as your Google Account.

FactoryDataResetGS3

5.  Select Reset Device.

ResetDevice

6.  Select Delete All.

DeleteAll

At this point, your device will shut down, and the Android Recovery screen will be displayed for several seconds.  It looks like this:

DroidRecoveryScreen

Please allow several minutes for the device to reset itself  Once it is finished, it will restart and direct you through the setup and restore process.

ALTERNATE METHOD (When you are unable to get to factory reset screen)

1.  Ensure that the device is powered off.  To power off, press ad hold the power button and then select power off and then OK.

s3 Hard Reset

2.  After the device is off, Simultaneously press and hold the Power button+Volume up key+Home key until the Samsung logo appears then release.

Screen shot 2013-03-27 at 12.21.45 AM

3.  From the Android system recovery screen, select Wipe Data/Factory Reset. Use the Volume Up/Down keys to highlight and the Power button to select.

android_system_recovery-02

4.  Choose Yes — delete all user data. The factory reset may take  minute or so to complete.

android_system_recovery-03

5.  Select Reboot System Now.  Allow several minutes for the reboot process to complete.

android_system_recovery-04

ALL DONE!!  Give yourself a High Five!  Now just go through with the setup process.

39 thoughts on “How to Factory Reset Samsung Galaxy S3 and Galaxy Note 2

  1. Pingback: Google Play Store Error Message “The process com.google.process.gapps has stopped” | Keep Calm and Factory Data Reset...

  2. naveen

    I have done all steps what mentioned above. But still i am unable to reset. Just it shows Samsung model number and then does not reboot. Please help me on this

    Reply
    1. Casey Post author

      Hi Naveen,

      Are you actually able to get to the screen where it says “reset device” and pressing this? If so, and nothing is happening, you may need to do the alternate method to factory reset your phone, which I list in the post as well. If you take some screen shots of your phone and send them to my email bombshelltech@gmail.com I can take a look and see steps you may be missing. It’s hard to see where you may be going wrong (maybe) without having the device in my hands, so the screen shots would help.

      - Casey

      Reply
      1. naveen

        Hello Casey,

        Below are the steps i have tried.

        1) Switched off the device by taking battery out. then kept battery back
        2) Kept pressing Menu, Volume + and power button
        3) Samsung GALAXY NOTE II GT-N7100 text displayed, suddenly i released power button and kept pressing MENU and Volume+ button

        Waited for 10 mins, nothing got changed in the screen. same Samsung GALAXY NOTE II GT-N7100 text was displaying.
        Screen did not change at all to get reset device option.

        Please help me Casey. Is this big issue? I am very scared.

        Thanks,
        Naveen

    1. Casey Post author

      Hi Naveen,

      If your mobile is not booting up past the start up screen, you will need a factory reset (complete erase) of the device. Unfortunately, you will not be able to get to that screen on the phone, so you will need to perform an alternate factory reset on the device, which involves pressing a combination of buttons while the device is off. The instructions for that are located in the post. Just make sure to follow them exact or it will not work. If this does not work, you may need a new device.

      - Casey

      Reply
  3. Papi Chulo

    hey same problem here as Naveen!
    held volume+ power & menu key
    performed the whole resetting, wipe data, reboot device…
    then turned phone on andSTILL only the ‘Samsung GALAXY SIII GT-19300′ logo
    is displayed…
    I tried to reset again by repeating the factory reset but nothing happens?
    Am i going to have to take it to a repair shop in the am?

    Reply
    1. Casey Post author

      Hey,

      Sorry it took a bit to get back to you. Perhaps you have already sorted out your phone problem by the time you get this message, but are you actually getting to this screen during the alternate factory reset process? If so, have you rooted your device by any chance? It sounds like it is “bricked.” You may be able to re-flash the software on it if this is the case. If this doesn’t work, you will probably need a new phone. Here’s a little bit of info on how to do this. http://bit.ly/YaFgTM You can also just google how to flash stock ROM on GS3. There’s a lot of information on it available online. I don’t have a post about it yet. Good luck!

      - Casey

      Reply
    1. Casey Post author

      Hey,

      Everything will be erased on the phone. If you have an sd card, take it out before just so you don’t erase it by mistake. I have posts about backing up your texts, contacts and apps (they actually should be backed up with your Gmail on Jellybean, but I always like to use Astro just in case for the apps). You can pretty much use your computer to back up everything on your phone. Keep in mind screenshots and s-notes are stored on the phone memory. Most people think they are on the sd card, which makes for not-so-happy campers after they realize they just lost that data. If you want to connect your phone to your computer and have a mac you will need to download android file transfer. I will be doing a post on that very soon actually. If you have any other questions feel free to message me : ) I know hitting that “erase everything” button is scary, but its not as bad as you think if you know how to get everything back.

      - Casey

      Reply
  4. Brendan

    i started the factory reset and now my phone keep vibrating every 5 seconds. Is that suppose to happen?

    Reply
  5. Pingback: Comment on How to Factory Reset Samsung Galaxy S3 and Galaxy Note 2 by Jacci Ann

  6. Tiffany Rose

    Hi there Casey,

    When I perform hard reset, my screen shows text under the # MANUAL MODE # line. My problem is that the phone is not resetting in full. It looks like it does and walls me through setting up the phone again, but the same creepy little malware/virus/not sure what to call it other than someone that has completely taken over rights to my phone! The text I’m referring to on the reset screen is all yellow and says CSC stays: TMB. I have T-Mobile, so should this be there? Is there another reset that will get me back to factory settings? I have never rooted my phone, but am told a hacker can make your phone appear rooted when it isn’t…? I tried resetting by dialing a sequence of #s found online on my phone keypad but it didn’t work. Thoughts?

    Reply
    1. Casey Post author

      Hi Tiffany,

      Hmm…..now that sounds like a problem. I’m not sure whether or not you are still experiencing this issue, but I will look into it and reply back with my findings.

      - Casey

      Reply
  7. om

    Hi casey,
    i backed up my phone, but the problem is i can’t find anything that was in data coz i forgot my email password. and after backup the device shut down and start by itself, so how i cat get back all my files.

    Reply
    1. Casey Post author

      Hey Om,

      Did you enter the email before you erased it? How did you enter it? Was it under the accounts section on the phone, and did you choose to sync your contacts and calendar to it? What exactly re you trying to restore, because your gmail account will only restore certain things. What is your email address that you chose, or do you not know it? If you do not know the email address as well as the password, you will have to do an email address recovery by going to the site of the provider and filling out a questionnaire and they usually get back to you in a day or so with your account information. I am working with very limited information, so I apologize if I am not being of any assistance. If you still need help, I will need some more information. Did you already factory reset your phone? If you did not, you can back up your information via an SD card and/or your computer and then also restore it the same way. I can walk you through that, but your phone would still need to not have been erased yet for this to work.

      - Casey

      Reply
  8. om

    hi casey,
    i’m sorry coz i give you short information. yes i did, i already factory data reset and the data syns with 3 email that i had in my phone the yahoo mail pass word i forgot and the gmail pass word didn’t work the last email is skype. so after finished reset and restart the device i try to use me yahoo mail but the password not work coz i couldn’t remember and i inter new gmail to finish the steps.after i couldn’t get back all the files. I hope you understand me and help me. Thank you for your patience with me.

    Reply
    1. Casey Post author

      Hi Om,

      Sorry about the delayed response. You may have sorted your problem out already. To be honest if you already erased the phone and didn’t back up your information, you may not have anything saved. You can try recovering your email addresses by answering some questions. Here is the link for yahoo and gmail. Hopefully, you have some luck with that.

      - Casey

      Reply
  9. Pingback: Comment on How to Factory Reset Samsung Galaxy S3 and Galaxy Note 2 by Casey

  10. brencho

    I would like to thank you for your valueable and insightful information, step by step, alternate method of how to master/factory reset a samsunh galaxy note 2. My girlfriend thought she had frie or bricked her phone until I walked her through your steps.

    Reply
    1. brencho

      More importantly, I had spend all morning trying other methods of other sites, but none worked until I tried yours. Others suggest, hold the upvolmne and downvolmne button at the same time and the power button. The menu button did the trick.

      Reply
  11. Pingback: Comment on How to Factory Reset Samsung Galaxy S3 and Galaxy Note 2 by brencho

  12. claude

    Hi !

    After forgetting my screen password for my samsung galaxy note , and successfully doing a hard reset, now the apps store will not open. I keep getting the same message that reads; error has occured, please try again later .

    Any advice as to how i can rectify this apps aplication problem ?

    Id really appreciate if anyone could assist with advice on this .

    Cheers

    Reply
  13. free itunes download codes

    Howdy just wanted to give you a quick heads up and let you know a few of the pictures aren’t loading correctly. I’m not sure why but I think its a linking issue.
    I’ve tried it in two different web browsers and both show the same outcome.

    Reply
  14. twitter account

    Somebody essentially assist to make significantly
    posts I might state. That is the first time I frequented your web
    page and so far? I amazed with the analysis you made to create this particular post incredible.

    Great process!

    Reply
  15. Glen

    Help!
    How can I remove the downloaded software update for my S3 without resetting my device? I don’t want to install the update.
    Please help.
    Thank you.

    Reply
  16. Natali

    Ok I did all that but it is still in the samung screen doesnt go to home screen or anything its been like this for about 5 hours now

    Reply
  17. jackie

    Ok soooooo just bought the Galaxy S 3 a month ago paid $400 for it and now the battery will not keep a charge nor will it charge fully usually not past 17 percent if I do a factory reset do you think it solve the problem? Spoke with Samsung today they want me to send them the phone which they will keep for 5 to 7 days and probably send me back a refurbished one just not sure what to do help !!

    Reply
  18. Pingback: I am locked out of my samsung gallaxy 3S - Android Forums

Leave a Reply

