Help! Why is my Samsung Galaxy S3 Talking To Me!?!

Why is my Galaxy s3 talking to me?

First thing’s first…if my phone addressed me in the way depicted in the picture above, I would let it talk to me as much as it wanted to.  However, this is probably not the case.  My guess is that you are here, because you are probably being driven nuts trying to find a way to stop that little bugger from telling you every time you have “ONE NEW EMAIL!”

The first time I experienced this was after a rather loooooooooong night in AC.  Long story short, my phone found its way into one of the many of Harrah’s porcelain thrones that evening.  Don’t judge me.  Seriously, you think you are annoyed now!  Try having your phone talk to you non-stop after one too many Jager Bombs.  Now multiply that by 50, add in a nominal amount sleep, and while you’re at it let’s have an easter egg hunt for Advil LiquiGels when you can hardly think straight.

::FLASHBACK:: Ahhhh the room is spinning!  One foot on the floor.  You can do this.  You’re not a rookie.  Hmmm…I’ll just deal with the mindless annoyance for now.  Yup, this is how it happened.  No shame folks.

Fast forward 1 hour and 45 minutes later…

STOP!! FOR THE LOVE OF GOD!! PLEASE!! MY HEAD IS THROBBING! WHERE AM I?  WHAT DID I DO LAST NIGHT?  WHY IS MY PHONE TALKING TO ME?  WHY ARE MY LIQUID INDICATORS RED?  OOOOooooo That’s why.  I remember now.  Well, I hope I used hand sanitizer.

Well, at first I thought my phone’s new found speech capabilities were just a side effect of the water damage.  Not so.  That little guy held up like a submarine.  You can imagine my relief when I realized it was just a setting that I turned on accidentally in my drunken stupor.

So, your phone is talking to you because:

  1. You have DRIVING MODE turned ON     OR     2.  You have TALKBACK ENABLED

In the event that DRIVING MODE is on, you will need to swipe your notification bar down and scroll from right to left to find driving mode.  Make sure it is not highlighted in green.  See photos below.

BAD

BAD

GOOD

GOOD

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If TALKBACK (for the visually impaired) is enabled, you will have to go to SETTINGS > ACCESSIBILITY > TALKBACK > OFF

My Galaxy s3 is talking to me My Galaxy s3 is talking to me My Galaxy s3 is talking to me

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

and…SILENCE! FINALLY!  Just think, you didn’t even have to deal with this in a drunken and/or hungover state.  Doesn’t that make you feel so much better?

Now if only I could get back all of my dignity and self respect that I lost that night.  Who am I kidding?!  As I sit here typing this, I’m looking up comp rooms at Borgata for this Memorial Day weekend.  Oh, and by the way, I did eventually find some Advil.   = )

43 thoughts on “Help! Why is my Samsung Galaxy S3 Talking To Me!?!

  1. DandHRoberts

    Thank you so much! Apparently my toddler changed all my settings on me and I am sitting here at work freaking out because my butt (i keep my phone in my back pocket) keeps saying “# New Emails”. It was freaking me out.

    Reply
    1. Casey Post author

      Hi Dand,

      Well, it looks to me like you have a pretty talented rear end if you ask me! haha No problem! Thanks for stopping by and commenting. I found it quite amusing.

      - Casey

      Reply
  2. jerseymusician

    Yo Bombshell… after a google search of “WTF is wrong with my possesed talking phone”, your blog came up and solved all my voices-in-my-head issues. Thanks for posting your humorous help. Much appreciated. (one simple button… isn’t that always the solution!?) ha

    Reply
    1. Casey Post author

      Hey Jersey… (much <3 for the Garden State 908/732 woot woot!),

      Anyways, that is an awesome search phrase you used there haha! I'm glad someone out there is cyber world appreciates my humor, and yes usually the solution is a lot easier than we think (well most of the time lol).

      - Casey

      Reply
    1. Casey Post author

      Hi Mindy,

      Are you not able to swipe down from the notification bar? If not you can try a battery pull, which will turn the device off. Then replace it and power it on. Try the steps again after the restart. Keep in mind if there is any chance there was any sort of damage (ex. Liquid) after you pull the battery you may not be able to get the phone back on just to warn you. I don’t know your specific situation.

      - Casey

      Reply
  3. niki

    Thank you! My toddler had my phone and I haven’t been able to figure out how to get it to stop talking for a week. So much better!

    Reply
  4. Syndie

    My phone must love to talk cause I have done everything and when I get a text it will tell me you got a text from so n so.

    Reply
    1. Casey Post author

      Hi Syndie,

      Follow the instructions in the post to disable driving mode. If driving mode is not causing the issue, then you probably have talkback mode on. You can disable this setting under settings > accessibility > talkback > off.

      - Casey

      Reply
  5. anya

    Thank you so much, I thought I’m going crazy! this morning my galaxy woke me up with rude voice ” wake up! it’s 4:45″… but last night she was so sweet and wished me sweet dreams. not playing with settings any more :-)

    Reply
  6. Selmo

    Thank u for the side busting story and for the info I needed to turn that voice off. That thing made a family visit extremely awkward when my phone read a txt from a girl who put her name in my phone as Naughty Nurse Nadia AND read the txt that mentioned some very explicit things that no mother should hear about her son. Lmao, thanks again xD

    Reply
    1. Casey Post author

      Hey Selmo,

      You are quite welcome. I’m glad you got a laugh out of it. I’m glad I can laugh about it now too. I’m dying laughing at the “Naughty Nurse Nadia” comment. Absolutely hilarious!

      - Casey

      Reply
  7. Cee Cee

    You are my saviour! I had no idea how I’d enabled my S3 to talk & didn’t want to have to live life with my Media volume turned down to avoid awkward moments during meetings or social gatherings. Thank you for your help & humor! I’m just glad it didn’t happen in Vegas last weekend when I was very much in your AC state of mind/being! I feel for you!

    Reply
    1. Casey Post author

      Hi Cee Cee,

      That situation can certainly make for some awkward moments huh?! I’m glad someone else out there appreciates the humor and got where I was coming from in that situation = ) Hopefully you had a rockin’ time in Vegas! You know what they say…(insert cliché Vegas comment here) Thanks for stopping by the site!

      - Casey

      Reply
  8. BrooklynChele

    Thank you for the help and the laugh. It made my morning….you should so write a book; you’re a great storyteller!

    Reply
    1. Casey Post author

      Good Morning BrooklynChele,

      You’re welcome and thank you! I actually went to school for writing…somehow found myself in this field ; ) I am contemplating the book idea actually. Still waiting for that huuuuuge idea for it. Maybe one day. Lol

      - Casey

      Reply
  9. kate

    thank you so much!!! googling how to stop my galaxy s3 talking bought me to your fab blog! finally my phone is silent (but ive no idea how driving mode got activated!!)

    Reply
  10. Jenn

    My phone started talking at me 2 nights ago, it appears to have been caused by an app I downloaded but I like the app and according to my settings Talk Back is not switched on and I don’t appear to have a driving mode (my phone is the SG S3 mini)

    Any ideas? Other than media volume off

    Reply
  11. lilkat76

    Thank you, thank you, thank you. My phone has been talking to me for a little over 3 weeks now and it has been driving me and my children insane!! She murders the names of most of my texters and I couldn’t believe she would still talk even when on silent. I had to start leaving my phone in my car when I went to church because I know it wasn’t God that would be emailing or texting me :-) I should have searched for my answer weeks ago but I just thought it was because I had dropped it one too many times. Again, thank you for the funny story and the answer to my problem.

    Reply
  12. Rodrigo

    My two year old niece got her hands on my phone, when i finally took it away it started talking to me. After hours of looking through the phone, i finally had to Google “why does my phone keep talking to me” and your blog helped me out in 2 minutes flat thanks.

    Reply
  13. Derek

    Thank you so much! I literally googled, “why is my galaxy phone talking to me” and just read your blog post. I would have never noticed that driving mode was inadvertently turned on…

    Reply
  14. Nadia

    Omg!!!!! Thnak You for saving me of this headache my phone was giving me……I tried several web page and you was the only one capable of helped me.Thank youuuuuuuuuu :)

    Reply
  15. Jessica

    My phone is still talking to me. I think that it in fact was changed to the talkback feature as there is a hand in the upper left side of the screen. However I cannot get the phone to open from the lock screen. I am following the “double tap and then swipe the screen ” however she just continues to repeat herself. Help me please. This is the sanding g III

    Reply
  16. pete

    Thanks so much! I accidentally enabled driving mode! You have no idea how much this helped me! So many sites with all this complicated crap! You folks are awesome! Thanks.

    Reply
  17. anne

    Thank you soooooo much casey I only got the phone today and it was doing my head in , how the others have put up with it for more than a day is amazing

    Reply
    1. Casey Post author

      Hey Anne,

      You are welcome. I don’t think I could have dealt with it for more than a day either. Thankfully the booze helped (joking).

      - Casey

      Reply

Leave a Reply

