Android Universal Search Application for Samsung Galaxy S4 and Note 2

vtap universal search

A few days ago, I was assisting someone who was set on returning their newly purchased Samsung Galaxy S3, because despite all of its bells and whistles, still managed to lack one feature in particular – a universal search function.  This happened to be a deal breaker for him, so he was ready to pay a restocking fee and reactivate his prehistoric blackberry back onto his phone number.  Apparently dealing with its slower than slow browser capabilities were more than worth it if he was able to search his entire phone contents with a couple clicks of his qwerty keyboard.  For some reason, this didn’t sit well with me.  I mean to each their own, but his new phone was light years ahead of what he was about to go back to.  It’s like he had a Maserati for a day, but was about to turn the keys in and pull out of the lot with his Ford Tempo that he traded in only a day earlier.

I was not about to let the sheer awesomeness of this device slip through this guy’s hands, all because of one measly little universal search function.  No.  Not happening on my watch.

When the S3 came out, it actually did have this function built into the operating system, but because of Apple’s lawsuit regarding infringement Samsung removed this ability from the phone, essentially “dumbing down” its flagship device.  Don’t even get me started with this, cause I would like to keep this post to a relatively easy read.  That being said…

I had about 2 minutes while I was processing the return, to save this guy from making a huge mistake.  Thank you 4GLTE, because within no time I was able to search the Google Play store and find  and download Vtap by Veveo onto my own phone to test it out.  It’s a 3rd party universal search function, and within seconds I was hooked, and I was sure the guy standing across from me would be too as soon as I showed him this needle in a haystack.  Seriously, I felt like Christopher Columbus, except for the fact that Vtap isn’t exactly America.  After the initial setup it worked flawlessly!  I was able to find contacts, apps, music, text messages, emails, utilities and other essential things on my phone quickly and easily.  For a full description of what the app is capable of, click on the link above, which will take you to Google Play Store.

As if this awesome app isn’t enough…wait for it…

vtap universal search by veveo

After, you download the application, you can go into your widgets and you now have a Vtap universal search widget that you can put on one of your customizable screens.  It’s the little things that make me happy.  I swear.

Long story short, remember the gentlemen I was talking about earlier, well after I showed him Vtap, he kept the Maserati = )

3 thoughts on “Android Universal Search Application for Samsung Galaxy S4 and Note 2

  1. Jenny

    thanks for this! I feel the same as your customer – pretty much ready to head back to blackberry with all the little things on samsung you can’t do. slowly I’m learning about customizable features like that.. much appreciated!

    Reply
    1. Casey Post author

      Hi Jenny,

      I’m so glad you like the app! It really is awesome. If you want it to be able to search your email as well like on the blackberry you will need to go one step further – when you are in the app you need to hit the menu key and then “capture email.” Just a little tidbid. Thanks for checking out the site and welcome to android : )

      – Casey

      Reply
  2. Dee

    Thank you so much for this. I feel like this guy until now. Returned a Nokia lumia 1020 for same reason. Switching from blackberry to Android is quite drastic. Thanks again

    Reply

Leave a Reply

