FoxFi Tethering App Stopped Working After Android 4.3 Update

FoxFi Troubleshooting

After updating my Galaxy Note 2…

I know what you’re thinking…

“Damn! She writes a tech blog and is STILL rockin’ the Note 2! Aren’t they on the 3 already, and the 4 is but a shiny sparkle in Phablet lovers’ eyes everywhere?!”

Why, yes…yes I am still PROUDLY using it.  It’s still pretty damn awesome minus the need for a new screen protector and a missing S-Pen, which is the result of one too many Jaeger Bombs a couple of months back.

Anyways, I am getting sidetracked here.  The point of this post is that not too long ago, I upgraded my software to the latest 4.3 version, and my FoxFi tethering app stopped working.  I got some error message about needing to contact my provider to subscribe to this feature.

I do not have AT&T, but I found this image online of someone who apparently had the same problem, and my sick humor finds it absolutely hilarious.  If you are a returning reader, then you probably will too.  It definitely looks like something I would do.

Well, apparently in the latest OS patch, my tethering had been blocked.  My heart literally sank when I tried to connect to my FREE mobile hotspot.  I mean, what the heck is the point of still being a guest at the Unlimited Data party extravaganza and not being able to tether to your heart’s content.  You would have thought my dog died or something judging by my reaction, and rightfully so.

So, what did I do when this happened – I trolled the internet for someone like me who writes posts on how to fix these sorts of things.  Just like you are doing now reading this, I sat there for 20 minutes clicking links on a search to make this  ::insert expletive here::  then  ::insert compound supporting expletive here::  work again.

Here’s the fix for it.  Note, it may involve a couple different steps.

1. Make sure you update FoxFi to the latest version.  You can do this from the Google Play Store.  If you uninstall the app and reinstall it, this also accomplishes the same task, because it will automatically update to the latest version.

2.  Launch the app and check the box to activate WiFi hotspot.

FoxFi Troubleshooting

3. You will need to install a certificate in order to use the app.

FoxFi Troubleshooting 4. You can name it whatever you want.  As you can see from the image below, I was not very original.

FoxFi Troubleshooting

5. Then, you will have to check the box next to “I trust this application.”  If you’re working through trust issues presently, you may have a little trouble with this step.  Just book an extra therapy session this week and you’ll be fine.  Trust me – no pun intended.

FoxFi Troubleshooting6. You will then get a message telling you to beware that after the next update to Android KitKat 4.4, you may be…how can I put this nicely…S.O.L.  So, you may want to ignore any future software update notifications.  This is not fact, but just a disclaimer from the developers, as they do not accept any responsibility for this and give subscribers a fair warning.

FoxFi Troubleshooting

 

P.S. You will be required to password protect your phone either by pattern or pin in order for this app to work.

10 thoughts on “FoxFi Tethering App Stopped Working After Android 4.3 Update

  1. Ernie Tamayo, PHR

    Hey Casey, good to see you back…lol…hope all is well…I can get you an S pen for your Note 2…let me know😉

    Reply
    1. Casey Post author

      Hey Ernie,

      Been super busy at work lately, so haven’t had the time I’d like to update here as much as I’d like to. I never realized how much I use my S Pen lol Oh my gosh really. I shall inbox you. That’d be great!

      Casey

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Turn Your Phone Into a Free WiFi Tethering Hotspot With FoxFi (No Root) | Keep Calm and Factory Data Reset…

  3. JT

    Aloha,

    Have you heard anything about at&t sending letters to customers using foxfi… something about canceling unlimited data because of an unauthorized wifi hotspot… want to try this but worried ill lose my unlimited…

    Thanks,
    JT

    Reply
    1. Casey Post author

      Hi JT,
      I have not heard anything about this. I do know that a certain other red carrier does not though from personal experience. Not sure if ATT does though.
      Casey

      Reply
  4. Jeff

    If your a Verizon customer they closely watch your data now and will hold u accountable for breach of contract and fine u more than its worth to use this app

    Reply
  5. linda

    Mine didn’t prompt me for a certificate installation, even after reinstalling and giving up my unlimited paid access. Any suggestions? Thank you.

    Reply
    1. Casey Post author

      Hi Linda,
      I believe the app has been updated since I wrote this post. It may not actually prompt for the certificate anymore. May I ask which carrier you have?
      Casey

      Reply

Leave a Reply

